IEC-61508 Functional Safety Red Belt Certification

Course Identifier:  e20-001

IEC 61508 the basic functional safety standard applicable to all kinds of industry. This A-class standard defines fundamental functional safety concepts which are being used or referred to by many other standards.


The fundamental concept is that any safety-related system must work correctly or fail in a predictable (safe) way with two fundamental principles to apply:


  1. An engineering process called the safety life cycle is defined based on best practices in order to discover and eliminate design errors and omissions.
  2. A probabilistic failure approach to account for the safety impact of device failures.


This training guides you through the whole life cycle by explaining the sometimes ambiguous requirements and by providing application examples in order to ensure the correct understanding for all participants.


Our course is structured based on a top-down approach allowing trainees to book one or multiple days tailored to their needs. However, the exam on the fifth day requires that all training days (1-to-4) have been followed by the trainee.


Find locations by city and dates or contact us for a company specific course.


Day 1 – IEC-61508 Introduction and overall lifecycle

  1. Relation to other standards
  2. Concepts of safety and standards
  3. Functional Safety Management (FSM)
  4. Terminology
  5. Overall lifecycle
  6. Responsibilities and competencies of the personal
  7. Safety work products
  8. Risk reduction


Day 2 – IEC-61508 HW development and metrics for design assessment

  1. Hazard and Risk Assessment
  2. Hardware Architectures
  3. Measures against systematic failures
  4. Introduction to Diagnostic Coverage (DC), Safe Failure Fraction (SFF) and Hardware Fault Tolerance (HFT)
  5. Mission profiles


Day 3 – IEC-61508 FMEDA, failure rates, HW metrics and relation with SW

  1. Types of failures (Safe Failure, Dangerous Detected, Dangerous Undetected)
  2. Failure rate repartition and diagnostic coverage application
  3. Failure Mode, Effect and Diagnostic Analysis (FMEDA)
  4. Safety Mechanisms and detection of failures (Techniques and Measures)
  5. Calculation of PFH / PFD and influence of common cause failures
  6. Overview of available databases for the failure rate determination


Day 4 – IEC-61508 Software Development

  1. Software development phases
  2. Requirement and Documentation management
  3. Measures and techniques for avoiding systematic failures
  4. Software Validation
  5. Tool qualification
  6. Software Modification


Day 5 – Exam

The exam will be taken at the end of the course.

In case the individual trainee achieves a minimum of 75% of the total score he/she will receive a certificate valid for a period of 3 years.

In case of non-achievement of the minimum score he/she will receive a confirmation of participation.

Upon the agreement of the individual we publish his/her certificate and validity on our registry accessible through our website.

Please find our additional resources below: