EN-50126/50128/50129 – RAMS Red Belt Certification

Course Identifier:  e40-001

The standards EN 50126, EN 50128 and EN 50129 provide railway duty holders and railway suppliers with a process which will enable the implementation of a consistent approach to the management of Reliability, Availability, Maintainability and Safety (RAMS).

EN 50126/8/9 forms part of the railway sector specific application of IEC 61508.

This training guides you through the structure of these standards and helps you to clearly understand the development life cycle, actors, processes, activities and deliverables to be prepared at each stage. During the course, several examples and exercises will be undertaken in order to ensure the correct understanding of all requirements.

Our course is structured in 3 main blocks (System, SW and HW/Signaling). Each blocks takes place on a different day, allowing trainees to book one or multiple days, depending on their needs. However, the exam given the third day requires that all training days (1-to-3) have been followed by the trainee.

Find location by city and date


Day 1 – EN 50126

1. Introduction to EN 50126/50128/50129
– Scope and legal framework
– Interfaces with other standards
– Main changes against previous versions

2. The V-Cycle
– Main stages, inputs, outputs and responsible entities.
– Multisystem approach

3. System definition
– RAMS Plan (Content, importance).
– Example of RAMS plans.

4. Risk analysis
– Risk acceptance categories
– Risk analysis and evaluation
– Hazard Log
– Group Exercise

5. Specification of system requirements
– Validation Plan (Content, importance, examples).
– SIL level allocation

6. Architecture and Apportionment
– Hazard analysis
– The hourglass model
– Allocate requirements
– Common Cause Failures

7. Integration
– HW/SW Integration

8. Validation
– Validation Plan
– Safety Case
– Quality Management, Safety Management, Functional and Technical Safety

9. Q&A

10. Examples and group exercises

Day 2 – EN 50128

1. 50128 and its relation with other standards

2. Scope

3. SW management and organisation, roles

5. SW V-cycle

6. SW Quality Assurance Plan, SW Configuration Management Plan, SW V&V Plan

7. SW Requirements Specification, Formal Methods, examples, Overall SW Test Specification

10. SW Architecture & Design

11. Use of pre-existing SW

12. Coding standards and style guide

13. Integration Test Specification, metrics, traceability

14. SW Component Design Specification

15. SW Integration Test Report, Boundary value analysis.

16. Overall SW Validation, release note

17. SW assessment

18. Maintenance

19. Application data

20. SW Tools

21. Q&A, exercise

Day 3 (morning) – 50129 

1. Introduction

– Scope, relation with other standards.

– When does it apply?

– Safety integrity

2. Roles and main activities

3. Safety Case structure

– Quality Management

– Safety management

– Technical Safety

4. Safety related application conditions

5. Use of pre-existing items

6. Use of safety related tools

7. Q&A, exercise

Day 3 (afternoon) – Exam

Final Exam

The exam will be taken at the end of the course.

In case the individual trainee achieves a minimum of 75% of the total score he/she will receive a certificate valid for a period of 3 years.

In case of non-achievement of the minimum score he/she will receive a confirmation of participation.

Upon the agreement of the individual we publish his/her certificate and validity on our registry accessible through our website.

Please find our additional resources below: